“By Allah, I then fell down unconscious.”

3117367205_9c4e490907

Saleh al-Mizee said:

“In the middle of the day, I entered the graveyard. I looked at the graves and they were like a group of silent people.

I said,

‘How perfect Allah is! Who will bring you back to life and resurrect you after a long period of decomposition?’

A caller called out to me from behind those holes (in the ground), saying:

‘O Saleh:

ayah

And among His Signs is that the heaven and the earth stand by His Command, then afterwards when He will call you by single call, behold, you will come out from the earth (i.e from your graves for reckoning and recompense). (Surah Rum 30:25)

Saleh said :

“By Allah, I then fell down unconscious.”

[Ibn Kathirs ‘al-Bidayah wan-Nihayah‘]

15 Comments

Filed under Classics, From the Pages of History, Polishing The Heart, The Hereafter

15 responses to ““By Allah, I then fell down unconscious.”

  1. ansaari

    subhaan’Allah !

    Like

  2. fulaan

    Assalaamu alaykum,

    I think I read an article on your site once where Umar Abdul Azeez said he never allows an hour to go by without thinking of death. What was the title of that post?

    Like

  3. fulaan

    Jazaaki Allaahu khayr for putting up the link but its not that one. Its another article. In the one i’m talking about he only refers to himself, not anyone else.

    Like

  4. Aameen – wa iyyak.
    I’m sorry but I can’t find any other posts [on this blog] related to `Umar bin `Abd al `Azeez [rahimahullah] other than this:

    “O People!” {Tearjerker!}

    [His final khutbah].

    But here is some narrations regarding his rememberance of the hereafter and his fear of it.

    1] It was narrated that `Abd al-Salem had related to us saying “`Umar bin `Abd al-`Azeez wept and then his wife wept with him. Consequently, all his people at home wept with him and none of them knew why the others wept. When things became calm again Fatimah asked him ‘By my father, O Ameer ul-Mumineen, why did you cry?’
    He answered:’I remembered something Fatimah; I remembered when all people will stand in trial in between the hands of Allah, the Exalted and how some of them will be sent to Paradise and the rest will be sent to Hell.” It was said that after he said this he cried and fell unconscious.

    2] It was also narrated that `Abdullah bin az-Zubayr related to us “I have heard al-Qadah mentioning that whenever death is mentioned in front of `Umar he would shudder like a bird. He would also cry deeply, so deeply that his tears would run down his beard.”

    3] It was also related that Sa`eed said: ” We have been told that whenever death is mentioned in front of `Umar bin `Abd al-`Azeez all his limbs would tremble.”

    Taken from the Virtues of `Umar bin `Abd al-Azeez by ibn al-Jawzi

    Like

  5. fulaan

    Ok, jazaa ki Allaahu khayr.

    It is possible that it could have been on another blog that looks like yours.

    Like

  6. muslimah

    subahanallah!

    Like

  7. Subhan’Allah, what a powerful and timely ayah.

    May Allah save us from ghaflah. Ameen

    Ps. You need to post more😉

    Like

  8. istiqaamah

    ^ i agree sister Fajr, I came to tell her the same thing!

    Like

  9. Ahlaam

    As-salaamu ‘alaykum warahmatullaah,

    Mashaa’Allaah, an excellent reminder and you have a great blog. May Allaah reward you for it and increase you in status in Aakhirah. Are you the same sis from __________?

    Like

  10. `alaykum as salam wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh.

    Yep, I am the same sis from ” ___”. (Sorry I had to edit your question – I’m a extremely private person and prefer personal details to remain undisclosed to the online world).

    Like

  11. Ahlaam

    Wa ‘alaykum salaam warahmatullaah!

    No worries! Sorry I didn’t realise you would mind, forgive me.

    Can I add your blog to mine?

    Like

  12. Wa ‘alaykum salaam warahmatullaah!
    No worries! Sorry I didn’t realise you would mind, forgive me.

    No need to apologise sis , you weren’t to know.

    Can I add your blog to mine?

    Sure, go ahead inshaAllah.

    Like

  13. CCC

    assalamu alaykum….
    you know the post from this blog i ALWAYS remember….is
    ‘Allah knows i killed him’….
    masha Allah….for some reason it refuses to leave me.
    i think of this blog and i think of that post

    Like

  14. wa`alaykum as salam wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh

    Well habibty… do me a favour inshaAllah, narrate that story to ibn/bint `Uthman for me.

    Like

Thoughts...if any?

