Washed Away 50 000 Ahadith!

3033371575_c1154e318e_m

The father of Abee Aasim said: I heard my son narrate from Abu Abdullah al-Kasa`i; I heard ibn Abee Aasim say:   

 When the affair of al-Alawee occurred in Basrah all of my books were lost, so I re-wrote fifty thousand ahadith from memory. I used to go to the greengrocers’ shop and write using the light of his lamp. Then I realised that I had not asked the permission of the owner of the lamp to sit in its light so I went to the sea and washed away all I had written and wrote it again.  

[Siyar a’laam an-Nubalaa’ 13/430-439]

2 Comments

Filed under From the Pages of History, Gems, Siyar a’laam an-Nubalaa’, The Best Provision

2 responses to “Washed Away 50 000 Ahadith!

  1. istiqaamah

    takbeer! you finally posted it ❤

    Like

  2. As-salaamu’alaykum wa Rahmatu Llahi wa Barakatuhu

    Masha’Allah, your blog is so wonderful.. I could sit here the whole day reading and learning, insha’Allah.

    Jazak’Allah for this post, it’s new to me.

    Wa’alaykum as-salaam
    Farhana

    Like

Thoughts...if any?

